Eyes Open with Tony Brown” talk show changing radio stations

Tony Brown is moving “Eyes Open With Tony Brown” to KTTP 1110 AM, Rejoice Musical Soul Food after six years of hosting the show on KAYT 88.1 FM.

Beginning Monday, July 7, in three hours from 6 to 9 a.m., Brown will present local, state and national news, weather and issues live from the show’s new home at 3419 Hynson St.

“I want to thank KAYT for working with me through the years. We created history together with the Jena Six. KAYT was good to me, but I now have an opportunity to create a new history towards taking my show to a larger audience through syndication,” Brown said. “I’ve always wanted to get the show to as many listeners as possible.

Though syndication is on the horizon, Brown said the move to KTTP on an AM frequency will limit his audience reach temporarily, but it will allow him to “aggressively go after the pieces of the pie that I wasn’t able to consume before.” KAYT is a noncommercial radio station unlike KTTP, which is a commercial station that will allow a broader advertising base, Brown said.

Radio stations on the AM frequency generally broadcasts talk shows such as Brown’s. Therefore, Brown said, “Eyes Open With Tony Brown” will be at home.
“I believe that my audience will follow me to KTTP because listeners have become accustomed to the show. It’s a part of their routine. I’ve been overwhelmed with calls from people checking up on me and asking where is the show,” Brown said.

Carolyn Frazier, KTTP’s station manager, said she welcomes Brown and co-producer Octavia Jackson to the KTTP family.

“We look forward to working with Tony and doing whatever we can to help make his transition a success,” she said.

Meanwhile, Brown said he is in negotiations with three stations that want to purchase the show. The stations are Tallulah’s KTJZ 97.5 FM, which covers the Mississippi Delta, Monroe, Vicksburg and parts of Jackson, Miss.; New Road’s KCLF 1500 AM, which covers Baton Rouge, Pointe Coupee Parish, Iberville Parish and Marksville; and KPCT, which is under construction in New Roads.

6 Responses

  1. Mr. Brown: Thank you so much for having me on your program. It was a pleasure. You know how “old guys” like to talk about the past. On the other hand….maybe past…is prologue!

    Best to you,

    Ken McGee

  2. HELLO,I’M TRYIN TO CONTACT YOU IN REGARDS TO THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM OF AVOYELLES PARISH.THERE WAS AN INCIDENT THAT OCCURED AT A NIGHT CLUB AND ME AND MY FIANCE HAS BEEN VIOLATED PRETTY MUCH.I HAVE BEEN ARRESTED AND STILL BEING HARASSED HE’S BEEN ARRESTED AND CHARGED WITH A SECOND DEGREE MURDER CHARGE AND WE REALLY ARE IN DESPERATE NEED OF HELP. WE ARE REALLY CRYIN OUT FOR HELP.YES WE HAVE SPOKE TO CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS BUT AT THE RATES THEY HAVE GIVEN US WE WOULD NEED TO HIT THE LOTTERY TONIGHT!!!!MORE DETAILS IS NEEDED FOR YOU TO BE ABLE TO UNDERSTAND AND IF INTERESTED IT WOULD BE A BLESSING FOR ANY CONCERNS OR HELP THAT YOU WOULD BE ABLE TO ASSIST US WITH I’M AVAILABLE TO BE CONTACTED AT ANYTIME AT 225-618-6388

  3. NEED LEGAL HELP; BEING FOLLOWED AND HARRASSED BY LOCAL AND STATE POLICE. MAIL, E-MAIL AND PHONE COMPROMISED. KNOW ANYONE THAT CAN HELP.

  4. Dear Mr. Tony
    My name is Norman Taylor, I am from Plaquemine Parish, I am a victim of Katrina and now the oil spill in Venice La. I talk to you last year about putting me on the show because I have been violated my rights concerning Katrina where we had raising funds that the people of Plaquemine Parish did not receive anything, Road Home & FEMA was suppose to help us and they didn’t, I am still homeless living in my van, I am disabled and I can’t go back home. please call me at 318-405-0434, I need your help, my land is in jeopardy, FEMA is stealing black people land, I need publicity to get my property back and the raising funds that was never given to us. God bless you. Thank you for your help it will be greatly appreciated. my email is normantaylor@yahoo.com

  5. Could you call me at 318-274-2311. I am looking for a bus that will be going to the Bayou Classic that I can take (turn-around-trip). Do you know of any. Thanking you in advance

  6. Hello Mr. Brown I have been listening to your show for sometime now and have never been able to get you on the phone line. I am a fourth generation U.S. Veteran with more relatives still in harms way in the military. I resently retired from the V.A. medical center here in Pineville after getting hurt attempting to save a fellow veteran and was injured in my neck, left shoulder and left hip so I had to step down after doctor first claimed I had no lasting damage but the pictures later told the story after over 30 years combined service in the Air Force and V.A. system. This morning as usual I was near Montgomery Louisiana and working my paper route for the stores and heard the comments on the Black experience during the World Wars. It should be corrected as my dad was a black man that was a sniper during that time stationed in France, Italy and North Africa. He is dead now since 1991 and received two purple hearts yet could not get a loan from a bank with the approval of some white person’s signature. He was treated at the very same V.A. that I worked at along with his father, brothers, uncles, and a host of nephews and my brother and me. Yet the V.A. stop his medicine claiming that his condition was improving after nearly forty years and he still had his back full of scrapmel when we look his body over at my cousins funeral home in Oakdale Lousiana. We need to bring the true history to light as in the Spanish wars, This is the second black President on this continent as Mexico had the first in Gen. Vicente Guerrero First Black-Indian President of Mexico 1829. Our people need to understand our history. I am a french-creole speaking 54 year old man who loves to talk about us as a people as my roots are four fold cherokee, choctaw, black and white french and can’t hate any people as the world is hurting enough. Please continue to push education. (318) 880-8494

Leave a Reply

