A Day After Gustav comes to Alexandria, LA

My what a night we had in Central Louisiana as Hurricane Gustav made its arrival. He certainly let us know that he was in town and that he was not leaving until he got ready.

I survived the night, and I woke up to a few branches on the ground. I for sure thought that two trees that are in my front yard would come down, but they didn’t. Of course, everyone lost power. We survived with a battery-operated radio that worked wonderfully.

Being the journalist that I am, I couldn’t wait to get up and out in the streets. People are out like flies searching for food and gasoline. Only a few fastfood restaurants are open. The lines are extremely long.

I’ll drop back in as time and power allows.

Leave a Reply

