Christmas program, poems showcase children

More Photos

Little Angels perform a liturgical dance routine during St. Matthew Baptist Church's Christmas program held Wednesday, Dec. 16. Photo by Sherri L. Jackson. More photos

By Sherri L. Jackson
The Light

Attending St. Matthew Baptist Church’s annual Christmas program held Wednesday, Dec. 16, brought back many childhood memories.

As I heard the children recite their poems and play parts, I couldn’t help but think of those days at my home church in Hammond.

It was during those times I gained confidence to stand before crowds of any size. I firmly believe that program coordinators’ firmness in making me learn my poems by hard gave me a giant step in life.

While looking at the children at St. Matthew’s program, I couldn’t help but believe those angels, shepherds and innkeepers may one day lead us old folks to the promise land.
If you haven’t gone to any Christmas program this season, may sure you do so. You’ll be surprised what the children can and will do.

Until then, Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

